We’re talking speeds of over mach 3 at heights over 80,000 ft, requiring specially designed pressure suits that would eventually evolve into the suits used for space exploration. Unfortunately, these jets never went into space though, they just went high enough that the enemy couldn’t see them.

The jets have been in use since the 60s, and had a final retirement in the late 90s. If I was a speculating man, and I am, I’d say we’re seeing shots from the Vietnam War, when the Blackbird was doing recon above North Vietnam. Still, that’s not a very exciting prospect for an FPS, recon missions from high altitudes and such. I’m expecting something completely ridiculous like our Black Ops soldier jumping out of the jet at mach 3, or the jet being shot down in enemy territory.

Check out CVG’s images for yourself:

The Call of Duty games have always done a great job of respecting the technology they’ve used in their games, and I’ve got to admit I’m impressed at their usage of the SR-71. The more I learn about the game, the more excited I’m becoming; great work Treyarch!

What do you think, Ranters? It’s no space mission, in fact it’s probably just a cut-scene anyway, but it’s still an awesome idea to include.

Call of Duty: Black Ops is set for release on Nov. 9, 2010 for your PC, Xbox 360, and PlayStation 3.

Source: CVG, Wikipedia, and thanks to research analyst Mechman!